“7 Churches of Revelation” 3-part Live Talk Series

February 20, 27, and March 6 @9:30-11:30 a.m. Central Time

Topic: “What the Spirit saith unto the churches” (Revelation 2:7)

How can the healing mission of church be defended today? Thirty years after Paul’s ministry, the early Christian church fell into dark, threatening times. Members were overwhelmed by apathy, laxity of standards, paganism, and the temptation to compromise the teachings of the Founder. The book of Revelation, written to church, contains a profound universal and timeless message revealing how church can survive through unity under the Founder’s teachings.

Join us for a 3-part, 6-hour series on the letters to the Seven Churches found in Revelation, chapters 2 and 3. We will consider these individual messages or letters in their historical settings and search for a deeper understanding of the divine purpose for church. Finally, we will look at the challenges these first century churches faced, see if any parallels exist today in our own church experience, and discover in these messages what spiritual solutions are available to those challenges.

Some questions that we will explore:

Why is there a moral urgency about the letters?
What is the pattern within the seven letters to church?
What pressure or hostile forces are threatening congregational life then and today?
How can church stay alert to deceptive pagan allurements?
Why does the Founder use the word “overcome” in each letter?

Included in the series

  • PowerPoint slides will be screen shared via Zoom during each presentation.
  • Downloadable handouts will include study questions, generalities of the churches and a chart to be filled during the talks, and maps of the sites of the seven churches.

Dates and Times (Central Time)

Saturday, February 20, 2021 – 9:30-11:30 a.m. CT
Saturday, February 27, 2021 – 9:30-11:30 a.m. CT
Saturday, March 6, 2021 – 9:30-11:30 a.m. CT

Start time per time zone:

Eastern time: 10:30 a.m.
Central time: 9:30 a.m.
Mountain time (includes Denver and Phoenix): 8:30 a.m.
Pacific time: 7:30 a.m.
Alaska time: 6:30 a.m.

Cost

$60 (members of Biblos Foundation will receive 10% off – to receive this discount, members must be logged in)
*NOTE: Please purchase the number of tickets for the number of people calling in.

Format

Sessions will be offered via Zoom and Vast Conference calling. The day prior to each talk, access information (unique to each talk) will be emailed to all registered participants.

 

To register for these sessions (one ticket per attendee), click on this link to “Buy Tickets”.

We hope you will join us for this in-depth look at these letters and discover their relevance to our church today.